We all know that slip and fall claims are well-known types of personal injury claims. Those who got hurt/ injured in a slip and fall accident in Woodland Hills because of someone else's negligence, are permitted to receive compensation for their injuries. However, before making the injury claim against the one at fault, one must be familiar with the limitation of slip and fall accident laws of the state.
As per the CCP (California Code of Civil Procedure), each plaintiff has exactly 2 years from the date of his/her injury to initiate their legal claim. It is not essential for the plaintiff to resolve their claim within this timeline. But what matters most is that they must start the process. No doubt, this deadline of two-year appears to be straightforward, but several exceptions and issues linked with them that are worth mentioning. The slip and fall accident law firms in Woodland Hills are much familiar with such extraordinary and common underlying legal issues. Hiring a law firm helps in having an experience by your side to increase the chances of making a full and fair recovery.
Recovering the damages:-
To recover the damages for a slip and fall accident, it is essential for the plaintiff to establish/prove that the defendant was careless in the maintenance or use of the property, he/she (plaintiff) was harmed by falling or slipping on the property, the defendant control, owned, occupied or lease the property, and his/her negligence was the main reason behind the injury of the plaintiff.
What damages can be expected?
Generally, the injured are entitled to recover all the compensatory damages that result due to the negligence of the defendant. The compensatory damages for such injury claim can include:
- Loss of earning capacity
- Medical bills for the treatments
- Bills of the rehab, home health, etc
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
Limitations for slip and fall accidents:-
As per the limitations by California Injury law for slip and fall accident claiming process, if the injure will wait too long for filing the lawsuit, the lawsuit can be dismissed instantly by the court. At such time, even the evidence of negligent or intentional actions of the defendant was also not considered by the lawsuit.
In California, the limitation scenario of two years is different for those who are under the age of 18 years. When the victim is a minor at the time of injury, the time period of 2 years won’t start until he/she will be 18 years old. Their time will start on their 18th birthday, which means they can bring a suit until their 20th birthday.
In California, if the injury of slip and fall accident was caused due to the carelessness of a government employee, or due to tripping on the broken section of city-owned sidewalk, then it is essential for the plaintiff to provide notice of his/her claim within 6 months. The plaintiff also must give the state or municipal government the chance to respond to their allegations. Woodland Hills slip and fall accident lawyers know how to tackle different types of accident cases. Hiring a lawyer helps a plaintiff to find the evidence that many times others may overlook, and give their best to provide the compensation that the plaintiff need and deserve.